It’s been a while, but it’s back!

1991 Donruss Baseball Complete Set – $50

Donruss complete set – year 1991 – 792 cards with Willie Stargell Collectors’ Edition Puzzle. Every card in mint condition as the box has been opened less than ten times.

image 1364694393-0

This just seemed like a reach to me, I know he only wants $50 for it, but really that’s about $45 too much in my book, maybe it’s worth $10 but that’s about it.  I figure that first I’ll just ask for certain cards out of the set, when he rejects my first offer of $5.  Plus it’s not even factory sealed (opened 10 or less times) like if he had opened it 11 times it becomes worthless.  It’s already worthless.

The Emails:

Me: I noticed you have a set of Donruss available for $50, is that price set in stone?

Craigslist Idiot: I am willing to negotiate but let’s be reasonable.

Me: Well I can get it off eBay for $3 + $5 shipping, so why don’t I offer $8 to you.

CI: I said reasonable, and you start off like that.  Come on, I can do $35 if you want, but I really don’t want to sell it for less than that.

Me: Beckett has it listed for $10, is there something special about your set that makes it worth 3.5X  as much?

CI: The asking price is $50, I’ll go $35 but that’s it.  Call me at XXX-XXXX if interested.

Me: OK, $35 is too steep, can you break apart the set?  I’d be interested in the puzzle. I just love puzzles.  I mean as long as they aren’t real big because I have the attention span of a gnat and if it’s more than like a hundred pieces, I just bail.  So first is the Stargell puzzle under 100 pieces and would you take $2 for just the puzzle?

CI: The puzzle is under 100 pieces but I will not take less than $35 for the set.

Me: I don’t want the set, just the puzzle, $2 and I can meet you anywhere.

CI: Are you retarded I just said I am only selling the set?

Me: I am retarded, thanks for making me feel horrible about myself.  You know it’s tough being retarded and jerks like you don’t make it any easier.  How about all the Diamond Kings from the set for $1?

CI: I’m sorry about that last email, I didn’t mean it, it’s just that I get a lot of email from people trying to low ball me.  I’m sorry I can’t break the set up.  Have a nice day.

Me: What does lowball mean? Also what is breaking up the set? I like puzzles did I tell you that? $2 for the puzzle?

CI: Listen this will be the last email from me, I don’t want to sell individual cards, just the set.  The puzzle is part of the set, give me $35 and I will sell you the set, otherwise have a nice day.

Me: I have a game at home that has money in it, will you take that kind of money or does it have to be real?  In real money I have $5.67 in my piggy bank.  Is that enough?  That’s why I offered $2 for the puzzle.

CI: I am sorry son, it’s just not enough.

Me: Dad is that you? I thought this set looked familiar.

CI: No it ‘s a saying, I’m not your dad. Bye

Me: But daddy I love you, please let me play with the puzzle.

End of Emails.

Conclusion: This one kind of fell appart mid way through, so I figure that I would just screw with him.  I hate when people get all derogatory with me, so I gave him a dose of bad medicine.  I still think this one was funny enough to post up here.  I’m sorry but $35 for that set is ridiculous. I knew he wouldn’t piece out the set, but I figured what the heck give it a shot.  Why wouldn’t you sell the puzzle though?  Especially after calling me retarded.  Oh well I’ll try again next week.  Hope you enjoyed!

14 responses »

  1. Brian says:

    Daddy…doesn’t love you anymore apparently. That was a good one!

  2. the sewingmachineguy says:

    Thanx for the post. Love these.

  3. Jason says:

    Thanks for the laughs!

  4. Jason says:

    Thank you for bringing this back!!!

  5. max j says:

    i got exited when i saw this haha

  6. slette says:

    Wow – literally laughed out loud at that one. If I tried to hold it in, I would have farted. Fantastic CI post!

  7. CPAdave says:

    Classic. I love how all of these CI posts have people that say they will negotiate, but you need to keep it reasonable, even though they are the ones being unreasonable all the while. It also seems a lot of your sellers like to call you retarded. Interesting…

  8. John says:

    I love these types of posts. Keep them up please!

  9. Nicely done, sir. Good laughs were had.

  10. Shaun says:

    This set was so bad that even the Diamond Kings were horrible. He should’ve paid you to take it off his hands.

  11. PunkRockPaint says:

    Wonderful. Simply wonderful.

  12. Sal says:

    “…thanks for making me feel horrible about myself…”

    LOL

  13. I knew I should have even clicked the link with the title of “1988 Donruss” “88 Donruss as to be one mass/over produced set of all time. Before I Grandmother died, I opened the packs and when should couldn’t sleep, she started putting together the 1988 Donruss sets. She put 1 set together for my cousins, my brother, and I. That is 8 sets all together and I four extra in storage. They are not factory sets but they are sets nevertheless. Some guys don’t get the concept of “it’s only worth what someone is willing to give you. I think I found the post that is going to help me sleep. If I can dodge the nightmares of Dale Murphy on the front of the ’88 wax boxes, which I have seen for less that $5, and the 1987 boarded Topps.

  14. John says:

    This one is a gem.

Leave a Reply

