tim alderson 35 of 50

Name: Tim Alderson

Position: P

Team: Altoona Curve (Double A affiliate of Pittsburgh)

Set it’s from: 2008 Donruss Elite

Serial Number: 35/50

How obtained: eBay

Why this Card?: To me, this is what I call the perfect patch.  The big piece of jersey with the small piece of patch.  I saw this one while rummaging through eBay, and I am always looking for future Giants and Pirates.  When I got the card, Tim was with the Giants.  Then when I learned the Pirates dealt Freddy Sanchez to get him and I was real excited.  The Pirates are taking it slow with him, but in truth he will be in the majors by next season.

But What About the Set?: 2008 Elite boxes run about 70 bucks. They contain 20 packs with 5 cards per pack. You get four autograph or memorabilia cards per box, plus five inserts or parallels.   At about $15 a hit it is really worth the money, there are some great first autographs in this set, including Buster Posey, Gordon Beckham and Rick Porcello.

Beckett’s Value: $30

eBay Value: I got it for a whopping $1.75 plus shipping.

2 responses »

  1. CPAdave says:

    I hope he works out. I was really ticked off when they traded Freddy, but it does look like this guy will help build a promising future in Pittsburgh.

  2. matt says:

    Hello, would you be willing to trade or sell me this card. Im going to see him in Bradenton in a week or so and id like to get that signed. I can get you something signed by him too. plmk, thanks, matt

Leave a Reply

