Pete Sampras Autographed Tennis Ball – $200

It is tough to put this ball up for sale. It was a ball hit out in to the stands after the match at the US Open Finals. I caught it and after the match I got him to autograph it after winning his final US Open. I lost my job so I am in dire need of money. Asking for $200 or best offer. Email if interested.

image 1389305485-0

First Thoughts: OK now you might think I’m a jerk for picking on the unemployed.  Truth is, I have recently run into several of these over the last few weeks and I think it’s a scam.  It’s always of an athlete with not too many samples of his signature.  Also Sampras is know to be a sloppy signer, no two autographs are similar.  I know I have seen certified versions of this run about $90 so I am a little concerned on this one.  Admittedly this might go bad, I am just warning you now.

The Emails:

Me: Tally ho, is that wonderful ball signed by the great Pete Sampras still available?

CI: So far you are the first to contact me on it, I really hate to sell it but I am unemployed and need the cash ASAP.

Me: That is a shame mate, I was wondering what kind of offer you would consider, I am a huge tennis fan and Pete was one of my favorite players (warming him up for a nice offer).

CI: Truth is to me the ball is priceless, I caught it at the US Open that he eventually won and got him to sign it that night.  I really need the money, I am holding out for $200.

Me: Bullocks, I thought we could work out a deal like for $90?

CI: Are you out of your mind? This is a treasure and I think $200 is a steal.

Me: Hmmmm . . . . how do I know it’s authentic?  I mean all I have is your word.  You could be scamming me.

CI: Thanks for your interest, but I don’t think this will work out between us.

Me: Are you breaking up with me?  What about all the compliments I shared with you and your Sampras ball?  Besides, what makes your ball better than this one which comes with a COA <link> or this one signed by Sampras and Agassi <link>?

CI: Look, I’m not going to argue with you, the ball is worth $200 to me.  I don’t care what’s on sale on eBay, the ball is priceless.

Me: Evidently it’s not, it’s priced at about $25 a pop.  So how about I offer $75?

CI: You know you’re a real piece of shit, I have your IP address and I know where you live, maybe I’ll come over there and shove this tennis ball down your throat.

Me: Does that mean I would get it free of charge?

End of Emails

Final Take: This one felt a little wierd to do, I felt bad for the guy, I really did, but he is also taking advantage of the buyer by tugging on the heart strings.  He knows how much it’s worth, he just doesn’t want to come to grips with it.   Maybe I am getting a little soft, I decided to follow this up with a “smile you’re on candid camera moment”.

More Emails:

Me: Hey I just wanted to tell you, that your Craiglsit posting was selected for an online gag I do on my blog and I just want to appologize if I pissed you off, if you want to read more of them you can find them here <link>, no hard feelings?  I do wish you good luck selling the ball.

CI: At first I was really pissed off, but after I read a few of your listings, these are great.  Look I know the price is high, but I do need to sell it for something you know.  Anyhow no hard feelings and I hope mine brings a few laughs.

Me: Wish more people were like you!

Conclusion: Well at least I don’t feel like a total douchebag now, also he did admit the price was high.  I don’t know, I hope he sells it, but then again I know whoever buys it is getting ripped off.  This is one that I guess I shouldn’t have pursued, but it has been ridiculously tough trying to provoke a good Craigslist Idiot of late.

Keep your suggestions coming in, I do try them all I promise.  You never know when you’ll strike some gold.

6 responses »

  1. Tim says:

    aww somewhat happy ending. I really liked that one.

  2. I liked it too. At least he saw the humor.

    Hey everyone I am having a giveaway on my blog so check it out for some free wax.

    http//:omegawax.wordpress.com

  3. PunkRockPaint says:

    “Does that mean I would get it free of charge?” … Instant classic.

  4. Mike says:

    Well, the ball is worth what someone is willing to pay for it. So if someone wants to pay $200 for it, it’s worth $200. How is that being ripped off? It’s just like ebay, some people put in a high bid of $5. Another will put in a high bid of $15. One person feels it’s worth $5, the other feels $15 is about right. Its only worth what an individual is willing to pay for it. That could be $90, or $200.

    This blog is funny as hell though. 🙂

  5. Frank says:

    Was cool that you told him about the site! The guy seemed cool about it A+ on his part. Sure hope the guy finds a job …. It really is sad that the unemployment rate is so bad.

    Peace Frank 🙂

Leave a Reply

