I was originaly going to post this on Monday but didn’t have enough responses.  I am definitely going to have to change the layout of the ad so that people actually give me a bid on it.  Although most people knew the card was valuable, very few (one person) decided to come clean and tell me how much the card is really worth.  I think I am going to send him a card for being truthful.  It basically fell into three catagories:

Do you still have it?

  • I am interested in the Albert Pujols bowman chrome card you have advertised on craigslist.  Is it still available?  Do you have a picture of the whole card?  How much are you looking for it?  Please let me know.  Thanks!
  • hello, i am interested in seeing the card and making an offer. he is my favorite player. my number is xxx-xxx-xxxx. call me anytime sat. thank you
  • Hey do you still have this card foe sale if so i would be interested in it. Please let me know if you still have it. Thanks.
  • Hello. Do you still havethe baseball card? I would like to buy it today if you have it. I cant see these emails during the weekend so give me a call at xxx-xxx-xxxx. Thanks
  • dO YOU STILL HAVE THE CARD FOR SALE. tHANKS.

I so hate these emails the most.  It is a complete waste of the seller’s time.  As far as giving me you’re number and you haven’t even offered anything forget it.

Give You $100 for it . . .

  • I am on duty with XXXXXXXX Police tonight but will be happy to give you a $100 for the card, I get off duty at 0700 in the morning and return in the afternoon at 430 if you would like to meet somewhere.
  • $100 and I can meet you today to pick it up.

I can’t blame these people for offering the minimum.  Given the same situation I might be inclined to do that myself.  I really don’t have any issues with these folks, maybe in future iterations I will have some dialog with these folks.

You my friend are a piece of work . . .

  • I’m sorry to hear about your boyfriend.  But great idea to sell his cards.  I’m somewhat of a baseball card expert, but I’m sorry to say that the card listed is only worth a few dollars.  Because I feel awful for your situation, I can offer you $20 for it.  I live close by and can meet anytime.  Also if you have any other cards you would like to get rid of, let me know and I’ll see if I can help.

This guy takes the cake, not only does he call himself a baseball card expert, but then goes on to tell “her” that the card is only worth a few dollars.  However since he is not out to scam “her” he’ll give her $20 for it, what a nice guy.  He then goes on to tell her if she has any more cards, he’d like to rip her off on those too.

There was one person who came through with the truth:

After I sent my first note, I did some checking on this card.  I would never be able to afford it, and at best could probably scrape together $500.  I saw one just like it on ebay that recently sold for $6000.   I just wanted you to know the approximate value in cash you get some crazy offers on it. Please feel free to email me if you have any questions.

Originally he offered $200, but then 10 minutes later sent the above message.  I do feel as though I should reward the guy for setting “her” straight.  sure what I could get him though.  Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

So where do I go from here?

I think this is still a viable option for Craigslist Idiots.  I think I will continue to use this ad, but in larger markets.  I think this week I will post it in the Los Angeles section of CL and see what comes up.  As for editing the post a little bit, I am going to ask that the people to submit an offer.  I won’t list that I want at least a hundred for it and we can see what happens.  Also I think I am going to go back and forth with the worst offer of the bunch and see if I can get him or her to go up in their offer.

Any feedback would be nice since I consider this our little experiment.

6 responses »

  1. Jason says:

    I find this format to be extremely fascinating. Don’t get me wrong–I LOVE the banter involved in the original incarnation of CI and hope you sneak in a couple here and there, but this way has almost a scientific feel to it. I’m sure I’ll enjoy it just as much.

  2. Rich says:

    I’m just going to put this out there, the guy that feigned sympathy and offered $20 is fat and possibly bald, with a hint of BO. What a penis.

  3. maxjackson55 says:

    i got a kick out of the guy saying it was only worth a few dollars. i think what you suggested would be better just asking for offers.
    thanks for the post
    max

  4. Jason says:

    I like this format better……more of a social poll than anything.

  5. Jason says:

    Frankly, I think you’re wasting other people’s time with your setup ad. Baiting people so you can put up their posts and call them idiots? Sweet man!

  6. Anonymous says:

    What kind of idiot wants to set up an ad like this and talk about Craigslist’s idiots who are simply trying to negotiate and buy things for cheap? Dude, it’s CRAIGSLIST! Everyone is looking to buy cheap! Duh! Want to waste more of your time talking about these idiots!? Well, here’s my two cents, you’re THE idiot!

    Let’s face it, anyone who sells on Craigslist are hoping to make a jackpot from their piece of ‘shi*’. But seriously, did you think you’re going to make $400.00 over an Albert Pujols autographed baseball by posting it on Craigslist? Hell no! What friggin idiot will spend $400.00 over a friggin autographed baseball!?

    News flash for you bub: You’re a cheap bum. I betcha you can’t afford to pay those eBay fees. Can ya?

    So I’m thinking you’re just like the other fellow craigslisters… hoping to sell high coz you’re full of greed, dude.

    So stop wasting time talking about these cheap Craigslisters… coz you’re a cheap ho too!

    Hey, I’m being totally honest.

Leave a Reply

