Last October I wrote about an A’s prospect that was bashing his way through the Arizona Fall League.  Grant Desme was named as the MVP of the AFL this year and recently was named the 8th best prospect in the A’s organization.  He should have easily gotten a call up this season after going .288 with 31 home runs and 89 RBIs in A ball in 2009.  He was slated to open the season in AAA, but the A’s got some interesting news from Grant during the week.

Grant has decided to become a priest and quit baseball effective immediately.  He released the following statement yesterday:

“I’m doing well in baseball,” he said. “But I had to get down to the bottom of things, to what was good in my life, what I wanted to do with my life. Baseball is a good thing, but that felt selfish of me when I felt that God was calling me more. It took awhile to trust that and open up to it and aim full steam toward him.

“I love the game, but I’m going to aspire to higher things.”

A’s GM Billy Beane was shocked at hearing the news, but understood that Desme was doing what he felt was right for himself.  It’s hard for me to understand why a person would give up his career in baseball to become a priest, but I guess it’s not for me to understand.  As for the hundreds of people who are prospectors, they must be seething at this development, especially after the season he had last year.  His cards had been steadily climbing over the past few months, now, you can rip them in half because unless he becomes Pope, his cards are pretty much worthless.

5 responses »

  1. night owl says:

    Perhaps worthless to many prospectors, but suddenly, I wouldn’t mind having a Grant Desme card.

  2. Shayna Friedman says:

    I was disappointed about this, because I had just recently bought some cards of him. I guess they’re worthless now… but all the best to him.

  3. Jeff says:

    One has to realize that there is more to life than sports and prospecting in baseball cards. If his heart is not in baseball, why go on???? How many times have comments been directed at athletes that they are just in it for the money, or that they don’t play with any heart or passion. Here is someone who has walked away to pursue a vocation that he feels is right for him. I admire him for having the courage to make this change.
    I truly wish him all the best.

  4. Mr. Rosado says:

    I’m a Catholic and I collect autographs of Christian ball players. I want a Desme card! As for him leaving the to enter seminary. Sure priests don’t make much money and live a life of sacrifice but in the future as a priest Desme will be able to bring people to Christ and Christ to the people through the sacraments. This is infinitely greater than anything.

  5. Derick Willis says:

    What I don’t understand is why he felt that joining the priesthood was the only way to serve God. I believe he could’ve reached multiple times more young people and turned them to God through baseball. Imagine how many young people would immulate a Christian MVP. Consider the much larger masses of people he would have as his audience if he bwere praising God after winning a world series or all star MVP. Seems like he is ignoring his calling from Gog and wasting an opportunity rather than following a path as a priest….And yes, I am a bit bitter because I own his auto (the one pictured in fact).

Leave a Reply

