Finally . . . a hockey post.  I feel like it’s been forever, but with the season set to begin, I thought I would throw one out there to my dedicated puckheads.  Although I am a Devils fan above all else, there are players in the league that I try to follow day in and day out.  Today,  I am going to write about Brandon Sutter of the Carolina Hurricanes.

Although I follow the Hurricanes, as there are no other major league professional teams in our area, I wouldn’t call myself a fan.  Life I said Devils v Hurricanes, I always take the Devils.  I first had my man-crush on Sutter when I went to a free signing the Hurricanes were sponsoring.  He showed up not only on time, but early, and was willing to sign anything and everything you put in front of him.  He also was more than happy to take a picture with you.

I followed his rookie campaign closely, one goal and five assists in 50 games.  Not a fair assessment since he only averaged about 8.5 minutes per game on the ice.  Not to mention he was only 19 years old and was still getting used to the speed of the game.  His sophomore campaign began the same way, then something clicked for him and he started to become a well balanced player.  At the end of last season he scored 21 goals and 19 assists and his ice time almost doubled.  So it really wasn’t a surprise when the Canes, elevated him to an alternate captain.  Becoming the youngest player in franchise history to serve as an alternate captain.

This year Sutter is going to be leaned on as one of the team leaders.  With the departure of Brind’Amour and Whitney there will be plenty of opportunities to score.  Along with Eric Staal and Cam Ward, Sutter will be asked to lead a very inexperienced team.  As for his autographed card values on eBay, they are generally going for between $1 to $3 on eBay, however substantially more for his signed patches (between $20 – $35).  The card pictured below is from the 2009 Upper Deck Champs set and recently sold for $1.  I list his cards as a buy now.  I think he is set to have a big season.

2 responses »

  1. Chris C. says:

    He does come from a good hockey family, I’m looking for him bust out the same way Bobby Ryan did last year. He is a great fantasy Hockey pick up for 2 dollars.

  2. dave h says:

    Glad to see the hockey chatter firing up! Sutter had improved a significant amount from his first year. I definitely see him putting up 20+ a year but probably not Bobby Ryan numbers. I see him maybe being a Jordan Staal like player for ‘canes in the near future.

    Go Devils!

Leave a Reply

