We all know the Sweet Spot product line.  Sweet Spot baseball is probably one of Upper Deck’s best selling brands.  The hits can be spectacular, I have seen Pujols, Arod, Jeter, and never forget “*”.  Unfortunately there is also a very good chance you are going to get a stinker.

I was on Sports Card Forums yesterday and posed a question to all that read the site.  Send me your worst high end hit.  User ARPSMITH gave me his story of buying a box of 2006 Sweet Spot.  One of these boxes, even now will run you about $90 – $110 even from the folks at Atlanta Sports and D and A Cardworld.  Below is a picture of the box.  You get one Sweet Spot Signature card (on average) per box.  You also get a Sweet Spot Super Swatch memorabilia card.  The only reason anyone buys this product though is for the Signatures card.  The on baseball autograph is fantastic.

Here is what our Brag Photo of the week pulled for around $100 . . .

You are looking at a sweeeeeeeet autograph of Tim Hamulack!  This 32nd round draft pick of the 1995 draft finally got his rookie card at the ripe old age of 29.  He went on to have a terrific 14 season minor league career.  He did get two stints in the majors where he put up:

Win-Loss 0-3
Earned run average 7.43
Strikeouts 36

Look I understand the need to place rookies in the product, I really do, but at a price point of $100 a box (now, it was probably higher in 2006), you have to offer something of value in return.  A 29 year old rookie middle reliever is not what I would call value.  This box was the equivalent of getting a one dollar gift certificate to the Dollar Tree.  Why freaking bother!  In the end, ARPSMITH had a good sense of humor about it, because really all you can do is laugh about it, but you know he is going to think about this pull every time he goes and gets a high end product.  I think this pull alone would be enough to get me out of the hobby.

So I ask you guys, how bad is this hit on a scale of 1 to 10?  Where 1 is not bad at all and 10 is EPIC FAIL. In my opinion this one is bad, maybe not Don Knotts bad, but just really leaves a sour taste in my mouth.  I give it a solid 8.5!

Also from his signature:

“I collect all former USC Trojan Football and Basketball players.
Approaching 10,000 Different USC Football Cards
I also collect Willie McCovey, Rickey Henderson, Roger Craig, Dwight Clark, Fred Dean and Scot Pollard”

So if you have anything you’d like to trade him for that card, just look him up on sportscardforum.com.

3 responses »

  1. Dan says:

    Pretty bad, I’d give it a 10/10 for that set (couldn’t do worse for that set can you?). Rather get a Ryan Leaf auto, at least there’s history in that card.

  2. R.N. Coyote says:

    I give it a 9 since I got his autograph on card for free at minor league baseball game last year.

  3. sanjosefuji says:

    I’ll give it a 9… it could have been worse… it could have been an autograph from a player’s agent… or a major league scout… or a Topps Rip Girl… or Alan, the Rip Master himself.

Leave a Reply

