I don’t usually do this for anything but cards, but I came across this one and had to give it a try and it was a good thing I did!

Topps Baseball Cards: The Complete Picture Collection / 1951 – 1990 – $289

ALL sold items are removed from listing immediately. Consequently, all “Is It Still Available” questions will be ignored. I am getting as many as 40 a day, with most of them just some sort of scammer. Also, any email containing any link, will be automatically deleted, and the sender will be permanently considered SPAM on my system filter. Sorry……..

Topps Baseball Cards: The Complete Picture Collection, a 40-Year History, 1951-1990 (Hardcover) – $289

RARE – TOPPS The Complete Picture Collection 1951-1990 BASEBALL CARD BOOK
Hard to find blue cover Topps Baseball Cards “The Complete Picture Collection” A 40 Year History Book. It is a special anniversary edition featuring a new introduction by Hall of Famer Johnny Bench. The book is HUGE. It is hardback with a glossy dust jacket cover, and is in great condition. It measures 14 1/2″ tall by 10 3/4″ wide by about 1 3/4″ thick. It is entirely full color and shows all of the cards produced between the years 1951 to 1990. Each year gives a brief synopsis of the year, the history of the cards, and a quiz with interesting facts. A must have for the card collector!!! What a reference guide!!! It is printed by Warner Books (Time Warner Co.) and copyright dated 1990.

This is a fantastic oversized book featuring the history of Topps Baseball Cards from their beginning in 1951 (Mickey Mantle’s rookie year!) to 1990. The Mick, Willie Mays, Ted Williams, Sandy Koufax, the amazing Jackie Robinson, Bob Gibson, Roger Maris, Hank Aaron (the true Home Run King), Tom Seaver, Johnny Bench, Stargell, Schmidt, McCovey, Whitey Ford, Nolan Ryan, Roy Campanella, Maddux…they are all here. The book goes in chronological order, year by year, and shows every card ever made by Topps during these years. The color images are great. There is a nice forward by Johnny Bench and even several pages of player stats at the back of the book. The book was purchased back in the early 90’s. It is in near mint condition, pretty much like new. The book is very large and heavy (near 10 pounds).

This book is currently being sold at the following dealers for the prices to the right hand side:
Perry Werner Pawprint Books via ChooseBooks $753.50
PAWPRINT Books via Maremagnum [United States] $753.50
Alibris [United States] $753.99
Pawprint Books via AbeBooks, Biblion $756.50

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First Take: This guy has quite a set on him if he thinks this book is worth $289. A quick search on eBay has it going for $24.99.  Now I will admit that the book does sell for a lot more on retail book websites, but who wouldn’t check eBay first?  If you haven’t seen the book, it’s really a great book.  Not $289 good, but it is good.  It retailed for $103 when it came out in 1990.  He needs to be informed and Lord Bynun will have to clarify it for him.

The Exchange:

Me: Good day kind sir, I came across your ad on the List of Craig and saw the gorgeous book you are selling.  As I am royalty I can assure you that this large book is Royal Library worthy and I would like to negotiate a price with you.

Sincerely,

Lord Bynun III

CI: Yeah the book is a collector’s item and is considered an antique.  I’ve seen it sell for close to $800 and I’m just looking to get $289 for mine.  If you are interested call me at xxx-xxx-xxxx.

Me: Sir, a Lord does not call, he write electronic letters.  The phone is reserved for the common folk, I have a serf that I can send to you with my communications if you like, however I feel that communicating through electronic letters would be just fine.  I like to tout myself as an amazing negotiator and your price of $289 which at the surface seems fair, but I will negotiate it down because that is what I am famous for.  So hold on to your britches sir as I work my magic.  I will open my negotiations by asking what is the lowest price you would accept.

Sincerely,

Lord Bynun III

CI: I have to ask are you a real Lord?  If so what is your lineage?  As far as the book goes, I don’t want to go too low on it.  I set my limit at $250.  Are you still interested?

Me: How dare you sir, question my good name! I should send my knights over to your land plot and deal with you.  Alas, I am not one who allows situations to get out of hand.  Instead I will play your negotiating game.  You won’t go lower than $250, but I am certain that if my squire was dispatched to your house with say $200 in cash, you would be hard pressed to say no.

Sincerely

Lord Bynun III

CI: I am sorry for questioning you, you want to do 200, I think I can do it, can we meet tonight?  I live in <city>, I should be home by 6 we could meet at 7? Oh and I only take cash.

Me: Sir I have only begun the negotiating process!  $200 was just a ruse to see how low I can get you to go.  Now that I have you down to $200, I will continue to work my magic to get it even lower.  Here is what I present to you as a final offer . . . $33.  This was after a lot of investigating.  However when I looked on the Bay of e website, I was able to find a similar book for quite a bit less.  You can see for yourself.  I have decided that I can buy from the Bay of e for $32 but since you have been such a nice chap, I would offer you $1 more.  I know, I know I should have just offered the $32 but the gentleman that I am I want you to have a little something extra for yourself.

Sincerely,

Lord Bynun III

CI: Look I have been spammed hundreds of times over this book and I won’t let you waste my time anymore.  The price is 289 and if you want it let me know if not I could care less.

Me: Sir, I don’t like the tone you have taken with me. I am a Lord of the people.  My Realm includes the land of BadWax.  Although you have a book and not cards, you sir are a scammer.  This same book is on eBay for no more than $50.  Your price of $289 and then other websites that are selling the book for over $700 is a ruse that you should be ashamed of.  I have decided to make the next Craigslist Idiot of the week <see here>.  Congratulations on your title, I wish you all the luck in the world with you book scam.

Love and Kisses,

Lord Bynun III

CI: You are an asshole you know that? What a waste of life, I hope you are very happy with yourself!

Me: Lord Bynun is always happy when he exposes a fraud!  If that makes me an “asshole” as you so claim, then I am the Greatest Asshole in all the Lands. Now bring me your crap of a book so I can sell it for a realistic price. Good Day Sir.

Your Hero,

Lord Bynun III

End of Emails

Wrap-up: It can’t be too rare if there are 7 of them sitting on eBay right now, none going for more than $50.  The guy clearly uses the other websites to lure in a victim.  He is really scum as he knows if anyone goes to eBay they would know in a second he was a fraud.  He should have taken my $33.  That might be the most he ever gets for it.

Overall I liked how this one went.  I think I am going to tweak the Lord Bynun persona a little bit for the next one.  Another idea I had was to pretend to be a ten year old with a piggy bank of life savings and see if they still try to scam.  Who knows maybe this guy will still be around next week.  I’d have to come up with another email address though.

Anyhoo, hope you liked this installment and keep the suggestions coming.  I always love seeing these idiotic Craigslisters!

9 responses »

  1. the sewingmachineguy says:

    “The Bay of E”, classic. Good work here.

  2. I have the ’86 version of this book. Since it is older (and has the red cover variation), I gotta believe I could get over $300 for it! Oh, wait, that was too many zeroes.

  3. Mike says:

    Reading through just about all of the CE episodes, there seems to be a very common theme. When the person on the other end gets caught and called out, they always resort to name calling and profanity. I don’t mess with Craigslist, just don’t trust having people show up at my house or vice versa to make internet deals, but if I was to ask honest questions to some of these guys and then they started calling me an A hole and F bombing, what kind of business sense is that? Go back to the last 10-15 on here, they almost always fall apart into a well screw you if you don’t want my crap, F bomb F bomb go kill yourself!

  4. night owl says:

    I’m not really a fan of Craigslist or the Craigslists idiots posts, but the Lord Bynum spin you’ve put on it makes me read through them again. It’s hysterical.

  5. Nick says:

    “love and kisses” had me cracking up.

  6. Weber 10 says:

    if you act like a little boy online, you might be getting a little bit more than you think from some people

  7. Drew says:

    Hahahahahahahaha that was so funny! I love how he actually thought you were of royalty, that was the best part. I love these posts, I hope I get to read a whole lot more in the future!

  8. JBob says:

    there’s nothing about these I don’t love! Keep up the great work. The lord persona is getting better. My idea is doing a really long exchange see if you can really get someone baited. But I enjoy any CE post.

  9. todduncommon says:

    You had me at “The List of Craig”. Hilarious.

    It’s too bad he had to call you a “Hole of Ass”, but from what I understand, it still taketh one to knowest one, verily?

Leave a Reply

