I know, I know it’s Wednesday and no Craigslist Idiots.  Well I just got back from a trip and still am searching for a good one.  In the meantime, look what I came back to:

Al Suomi is the oldest living former NHL player at the ripe old age of 98.  His story is quite interesting.  He actually only played five games for the Blackhawks during the 1936-37 season, but he was active in hockey from 1933 – 1940.  There is a nice write up about his career in Wikipedia <link>.

The request went out about a year and a half ago, I had forgotten about it and when I saw the envelope with the name on it, it didn’t click until I opened it.  Given his age and the amount of time it took to get it back, it might be tough to get another done.

Check back tomorrow for a Craigslist Idiot until then enjoy this piece of history.

2 responses »

  1. todduncommon says:

    This is super cool. He must have *LOVED* the idea of getting an autograph request, with such an awesome custom card made for him. I hope you included one that he could keep.

    I like the fact that translated, it’s like his name is “Al Finland”.

  2. Dan says:

    Would you mind sharing the address you used?

Leave a Reply

