Over the weekend I was able to pick up a pack of 2o1o Topps Magic Football, just to see what the new design looked like.  I am one of the few bloggers who really liked last year’s design.  I really liked everything about last year’s release.  I thought it would be a tough task to beat out last year’s design.

Topps got it right for a second time.  Not just from a base design aspect, but also from an insert point of view.  First the base card:

2010 TOPPS MAGIC SUH RC First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

Simple but elegant.  I liked the white writing on the black background, and the logo on the bottom.  I wish they used the team name logo instead but still I like it.  The player picture is fantastic, instead of a photo, they went with a oit/grain effect that came out nice.  Next up, the black border parallel:

Mini TOPPS MAGIC ALLEN First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

I always like the mini cards.  Now I’m not in love with the black border as much because they should have matched the black border with the black from the name frame.  Next up autographs:

2010 Topps MAGIC DUAL LT GREENE First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

2010 TOPPS MAGIC BREES AUTO First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

CHROME MAGIC ELWAY AUTO First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

2010 Topps MAGIC GERHART AUTO CHROME First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

The autographed cards are very nice, some are even on card.  Love the look of the refractor autographs.  They just look regal.  Next up History’s Best, Rookie Stars and Magical Moments.

Historys BEST FAVRE First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

Magical MOMENTS BRADY First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

ROOKIE STARS TEBOW 1 First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

All three subsets are very good and take into account moments and hot rookies of the season. Finally the stamp cards and the jersey cards:

MAGIC CHRIS JOHNSON PATCH First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

2010 TOPPS MAGIC WAYNE STAMP First Impressions: 2010 Topps Magic Football

Jersey cards I think are great, they look great with a nice flow to them.  I love the stamp cards.  I have no idea why, but I just think it’s cool to mix two hobbies together on one card.  Nice job Topps.  Overall I think they did a bang up job.  With no Mayo coming out this year, it’s nice to see Topps try to grow this brand.

What do you think?

3 responses »

  1. Kev says:

    I’m still on the fence with these. I bought my first pack today. I didn’t get any inserts but I didn’t expect to, only buying one pack. I got a Mini card or Mohomad Massaquoi. I like the look of some of the cards but others look funky. If you check out my blog look at Johnny Knox. Did you get those Autos? Those would be killer hits besides Gerhart. But who knows he might be good later.

  2. Mike D says:

    I’m in the boat of “like” on this product. Topps has taken a beating on just about all of their recent retro releases, but this one seems to get it right on that thin line of overkill vs. underwhelming. I think the product looks clean, the design is sharp and to the point, and it doesn’t look to have a bunch of nonsensical gimmicks littered around. It reminds me of the Philadelphia set Upper Deck put out, but a little more modern.
    This might be one to chase after once the sticker shock comes down a little.

  3. Laura says:

    I bought a box of this and got really crappy autographs, that being said, I think the cards are awesome. Its a nice change of pace for the look of football cards instead of seeing the same old cards that every other company produces, including Topps. I’ll probably buy more of these cards, just not whole boxes.

Leave a Reply

