This year’s All Star Weekend was held in my own backyard this year.  Of course thanks to sky high ticket prices and the fact that the poor are not allowed to attend these functions, I watched the events from the comfort of my couch.  The NHL took a gamble as far as I could see it placing the event up against Pro Bowl Weekend.  Also thanks to this year’s Fantasy Draft they stretched it to a three day affair.  So here is my take on the first two days of NHL All Star Weekend.

The Fantasy Draft

I really didn’t know what to expect about this one.  At first I thought it was strange to not have an East vs. West format.  From the start of the draft though, I loved the format.  Not only were they drafting for the game itself, but also for the skills competition.  I was guessing there were going to be some default must draft players for team Staal (all the Hurricanes and his brother Marc).

Staal didn’t disappoint Caniac Nation with his drafting of Cam Ward with the first overall pick.  Team Lidstrom went with Stamkos second probably because Mike Green worked out a deal to select Ovie with the third pick.  There was a lot of miced up players so hearing what the players were saying during the draft was kinda funny.  Here were the results (round taken next to name):

Team Staal

Forwards

C – Eric Staal

A – Ryan Kesler

2 – Alex Ovechkin

3 – Dan Sedin

5 – Rick Nash

8 – Patrick Sharp

11 – Jeff Skinner

13 – Claude Giroux

15 – Corey Perry

16 – Patrik Elias

17 – David Backes

18 – Paul Stastny

Defensemen

A – Mike Green

4 – Zdeno Chara

7 – Mark Staal

9 – Dan Boyle

12 – Kris Letang

14 – Erik Karlsson

Goalie

1 – Cam Ward

6 – Henrik Lundqvist

10 – Carey Price

Team Lidstrom

Forwards

A – Martin St Louis

A – Patrick Kane

1 – Steven Stamkos

3 – Henrik Sedin

6 – Danny Briere

8 – Jonathan Toews

11 – Brad Richards

14 – Martin Havlat

15 – Anze Kopitar

16 – Matt Duchene

17 – Loui Eriksson

18 – Phil Kessel

Defensemen

C – Nicklas Lidstrom

2 – Duncan Keith

4 – Shea Weber

7 – Dustin Byfuglien

12 – Keith Yandle

13 – Brent Burns

Goalie

5 – Tim Thomas

9 – Marc-Andre Fleury

10 – Jonas Hiller

I started feeling so bad for the last four players left in the draft pool.  Phil Kessel was the last player taken and although he looked a little upset, the NHL brass took care of him by donating $20,000 one of his charities and an new car.  Overall I really liked this a lot and I hope they do it again.  Finally, the best part of the fantasy draft is that you get to know how stiff or loose the players are.

Players my wife and I found to be entertaining were the Sedin twins, PK Suban, Jeff Skinner, Tim Thomas and Marc Staal.  Toews seemed a bit stiff to me but Kane seemed to be quite entertaining.  For the most part the personality of the players are always masked but it was fun  to see them let their hair down.  I know I will attempt to collect the players I came away impressed with the most Marc Staal and PK Suban.

0809 Heroes amp Prospects Superbox PK Subban Auto Image

2 responses »

  1. It’s too bad you didn’t get to go to the All-Star Fan Fest – I went way back in ’02 when it was at Staples Center and had a BLAST. Got to touch the Stanley Cup and took a picture with it – got my own Hockey Trading card and so much more fun stuff. I’ve been to 3 of the four “Fan Experiences” – lacking only Basketball, and this was by far my most favorite.

  2. Chris C. says:

    I liked the team draft. I was great to see Perry vs Hiller, Patrick Sharpe vs Towes & Keith. I think the NHL did a good job. I would like to see it the NHL all star game on NBC next year, my cable company doesn’t carry Versus tv.

Leave a Reply

