I won a few new cards to add to the collection.  Although I try not to buy prospect cards as a matter of habit, I saw this one and had to have it.  I broke a few rules in acquiring this one:

  • Never “invest” in a prospect.
  • Never pay more than $20 including shipping.
  • Never let emotions take control of your eBay purchase.

That being said, here is the card numbered to 12:

On the card are: Donovan Tate, Austin Maddux, Matthew Purke, Christian Colon, Cameron Garfield, Nolan Fontana, Harold Martinez, Wes Hatton, and Andrew Aplin.  As many of you know, I spend a lot of time watching team USA play because they train in nearby Cary, NC.  This was the first 18U team I ever got to see play.  I am looking for more of these, so if you see them let me know.

Total price: $43.99 (only bidder!)

2004 Fleer eX is one of my all time favorite sets and I love the Clearly Authentics cards with the patches.  This on had a sliver of a patch, but I had to have it.  On top of that Holt is a local guy and I always enjoyed watching the greatest show on turf.

Total Price: $6.99

This one works in two catagories, superstars and cut autographs.  I love me some Pro Football Hall of Fame cut autographs and I don’t have a Len Dawson.  This had a flurry of bids (13 in all) but never reached the height that I thought it would.  With 30 seconds left and the current bid at $13.50, I sniped it with a $18 cap and won it for $15.

Total Price: $18.50

So just a couple of my recent purchases, let me know what you think.

4 responses »

  1. the sewingmachineguy says:

    The name Christian Colon makes me smile.
    Nice pick-ups.

  2. Kory says:

    That’s funny about the lineup card. I was looking at a similar one 2 days ago. I didn’t know if it was legitimate or not. Have a look: http://cgi.ebay.com/2008-USA-Starting-Line-up-Pedro-Alvarez-Smoak-Auto-1-1-/250635634830?pt=US_Baseball&hash=item3a5b0c488e

    • chemgod says:

      That one is real, I have seen a bunch like that. The UD rep wasn’t there when they signed it and they didn’t know they had to autograph it. It was a screw up on the UD side and they never fixed it.

  3. JBob says:

    I think it’s pretty lame UD let that slip out. I would be pretty pissed if I pulled that card.

Leave a Reply

