Yesterday I got my hands on two boxes of In The Game’s first foray into baseball products.  2011 Heroes and Prospects Baseball “Hits” Series One. The guarantee is that there are 5 “Hits” per box.  Essentially autographed cards, cut autographs, and game used.

I have been waiting on this product for some time and I really couldn’t wait to get my hands on it.  The idea of a low budget hits only product was a brilliant idea, also the fact that it has some of the top rising stars in the game.  The best part behind this is the insertion of “Heroes” cards as well.  Hall of Fame members and retired greats of the game are celebrated with autographs, cut autographs and game used cards.

In the Game also guarantees that all game used items are actually used in games and not from some rookie premiere shoot.  I will get the checklist on tomorrow when I open box number two.  These boxes were donated to Bad Wax for review and to give away on the site.  So in the end these cards will all be given away!  I just have to get creative on how to do it.

Here is the packaging:

Next up, the opening:

First off, very cool presentation, also I love the fact the cards already come in penny sleeve and top loader.

Here were my hits:

Five autographs, all considered “silver level” which is the base level.  OK the no license hurts, but my attention goes right to the autographs so it really isn’t that big a deal in my mind.  The obvious good hits in this one are the Wil Myers and the Anthony Ranaudo cards:

Ranaudo has the makeup to be a number 2 or 3 starter on most teams, while Wil Meyers is considered one of the best young prospects in baseball.  Vitek is considered a top prospect in the Red Sox organization, taken 20th overall in last year’s draft.  He showed some pop and lots of speed in his first short season. Kepler as a 17 year old, did fairly well for the Gulf Coast Rookie Twins last short season.  Middlebrooks is a former 5th round pick of the Red Sox who spent last season in high A ball.  He seems to be developing, but still has a long way to go.

Overall I have to say that I am impressed with the product.  I’ve seen it run anywhere from $80-$90, and for five hits, I think this is a very good value for the money.  Considering that a lot of products right now are running $70-$90 for three hits, to get 5 solid autographs for the same price makes it a no brainer to me.  Plus I know I’m getting either heroes or highly regarded prospects.

Overall I give this 4 out of 5 stars.  The only detractor I could see personally is that each box should have a hero associated with it.  Other than that I don’t think I could complain.  I like the presentation and the fact that it’s all hits. I think I’ll be giving away the cards for people willing to go toe to toe with other collectors in battle of crap.  The winner can get both piles of cards, while the loser gets the ITG Hit.  How does that sound?

One response »

  1. todduncommon says:

    I still don’t know about it. The design is solid, if a bit too lazy-Panini for me. Not unattractive, though. As for player selection, I look at ’em, and I think, there are candidates in here for a “Battle of Crap XVII” in a couple of years.

    I’d like to see the backs before I draw a final conclusion. I am encouraged so far, actually, compared to past performance of Razor / Leaf, and especially compared to Just.

Leave a Reply

