It’s such a simple image, a piece of bazooka bubble gum, but the feeling you get is one of the warm and fuzzies.  Recently I got the pile of crap I won from Ray at Shot Not Taken, and in it was this card:

At first I laughed at the simplicity of the card.  How it was obviously designed for children and not for “serious collectors”.  Then I looked more carefully at the card and thought about the brilliance of the card.  Snazzy design on both front and back, game worn relic, and the fact that I could get these cards cheap.  Which given the name of the blog, is what I am all about.  There was one other thing I saw in the card that no one else had seen, potential.

It spurred me on to search eBay for more Bazooka relic cards.  I went into a Bazooka frenzy, soon I had a watch list of over 50 auctions, from baseball to football and even basketball.  I hate NBA basketball but I love these cards.  Then my mind started getting really creative, what if I could make booklets out of these cards?  It would be easy enough, I could design the cover and then mount the cards in, trim and viola a custom made Bazooka relic booklet!

Look at some of these gems:

It really is their simplicity that makes them so brilliant.  So here is what I am hoping for, comb through your boxes of cards and see how many of these gems you come up with.  I want them and am willing to trade my services as a custom card maker, trade my cards, or just outright buy them from you.  I want this Junk Wax people and won’t rest until I get my grubby little hands on them.  Cases of this stuff (in wax pack variety, go for about $200.  Would that not make for an awesome group break?  Think of it, each team slot is only like $6, just a thought.

So tell us all, what do you think of the bazooka Joe relic lineup?

9 responses »

  1. Nickcee says:

    I would be interested in a group break. I’m in

  2. dawgbones says:

    I, like you, don’t really care for other sports outside of baseball, but that Colts All-stars card is schweet. Really sharp looking card that really catches the eye.

  3. Bill says:

    Its a new little guilty pleasure. I love it.

    I actually like the inserts they put in I think a Topps football set a year or two ago. Might have been a Kickoff set. Some little acetate comic sort of thing. Not sure if it was marked as Bazooka but it was in that style.

  4. Nathan says:

    I’d participate in a Bazooka break FOR SURE, I love these cards. I Particularly like the 2005 and 2006 versions, but wouldn’t be opposed to 2003-2005, either. Maybe you could just do a box or two of each year (2003-2006).

  5. Nick says:

    Would be in for a couple spots if a group break is done….

  6. Kev says:

    I’d be up for this. Would it only be baseball?

  7. lambeauleap87 says:

    Ahh, how I miss Bazooka. I opened quite a bit of this back in the day…still have a Marco Rivera Pro Bowl Jersey that I pulled in my Packers collection. I’d definitely be down for a group break! Come to think of it, I might have to see if I can find a few boxes somewhere…

  8. r3dg3 says:

    There are NBA cards (one peso per piece; ridiculously cheap) available at Metrowalk, Ortigas, Pasig City, Philippines. I was hesitant to buy. But after reading your blog about Bazooka Joe cards, I thought it wouldn’t hurt if I buy some of those cheap NBA cards.
    Thanks, man!

  9. ig4mer says:

    Glad you like the card! I too am a big fan of Bazooka cards because they are a little different, a bit oddball and that is always a good thing for me! I have to take a look in my collection to see if I have any more Bazooka hits for trade.

    I have a Bazooka Yao Ming jersey card already (http://twitpic.com/48tyvg) but I really have to pick up the one pic above.

Leave a Reply

