I was going through some old posts and I saw the post I had made about found gold, discovering the 2004 Team USA team signed bat in my closet.  For my new readers, three years ago I was going through some of my older signed bats and came across a bat I had signed by the 2004 Team USA Collegiate team.  So I wrote a post about all the players that had signed the bat.

Here were the players that signed:

Danny Bard, Joey Devine  Luke Hochevar,  Ian Kennedy, Mike Pelfry, Cesar Ramos, Mark Romanczuk, Brett Hayes, Taylor Teagarden, Alex Gordon, Jed Lowrie, John Mayberry Jr., Troy Tulowitzki, Chris Valaika, Ryan Zimmerman, Travis Buck, Trevor Crowe, Drew Stubbs

Of course at the time (2008) I was mostly excited about Alex Gordon, Ian Kennedy, Ked Lowrie and Ryan Zimmerman.  However now that I’ve had a chance to see these players grow into MLB players, here is how I see it break down from top to bottom:

1. Tulowitzki

2. Zimmerman

3. Stubbs

4. Gordon

5. Pelfry

6. Crowe

Then everyone else.  Teagarden, Lowrie, Kennedy, Hochevar,  and Mayberry basically flamed out in their MLB careers and are kind of just hanging in there talent wise.  Still I think the bat is a great find, value wise I still place it in the $500-$700 region.  Someday I might sell it, but for now it’s currently sitting as number three in my memorabilia collection only behind:

1. Wayne Gretzky signed game used stick

2. Bryce Harper / Manny Machado / Jameson Taillon signed tournament of stars bat.

and in front of

4. Brett Favre signed Super Bowl MVP hat

5. Phil Simms / Lawrence Taylor / Jim Burt signed Super Bowl football

what is your best signed memorabilia?

10 responses »

  1. nickcee says:

    My top five.
    1. Autographed bat signed by the likes of mantle, mays mccovey, killebrew, dimaggio, and many more.
    2 edmonton oilers stanley cup team signed auto jersey
    3 1998 yankee team signed ball.
    4 thurman munson autographed baseball.
    5 team of the decade 49ers signed football including montana, rice, taylor, young, rathman, haley, seifert.
    Couldn’t give one.

  2. Tim says:

    My favorite is a 1953 Cubs/Pirates game day program signed by then Pirates manager Honus Wagner.

  3. Peterson says:

    Your top 5 is BEAST.
    My only non-card item:
    1959 Milwaukee Braves Program signed (with my dad’s own game-scoring pencil)
    Spahn,Del Crandall, Mathews, Burdette, Mel Roach, Bob Buhl and 3 others.
    After that it’s
    2. Richmond Braves Final Foul Ball from the Diamond (I attended the first and last of the final season and quite a few in between) and only landed my own international League Ball on the last day of baseball in richmond(as far as we knew)
    3. Sheet of Richmond Flying Squirrels Promo cards from final game of the inaugaral season signed on his central card by Thomas Neal. He was the only one to come out of the tunnel. I was ‘faced and waited til he went to catch his (pimp) ride.
    Thanks for sharing, dude, and letting me…

  4. dave h says:

    Mine is a Bobby Hull autographed Blackhawks replica jersey.

  5. Brian B says:

    199???late 80’s Don Mattingly game used bat, signed by the whole team, was shopping at a card shop, for Christmas present for my brother, had to have it, the wife rolled her eyes, and I plunked down $300…Billy Martin was killed a week later, he is on the bat, Winfield, Ricky Henderson or my season ticket book, 1991, with the final game #81 ticket alone on the last page, with 5 blank tickets marked void, with a HUGE Cal Ripkin Jr auto across the whole sheet, would have been his last MLB game, had we not lost some games due to 9/11. Cal signed it 4 minutes before the 1st pitch, no interviews, just Cal signing for 30 minutes right up to game time for all us Yankee fans, A TOTAL CLASS ACT

  6. Mike D says:

    I have a pair of unique items that will never find its way into any trade or sale.
    1) A 1989 Fleer John Smoltz signed card my uncle gave me for a Christmas present. Big deal? Smoltz and my uncle’s oldest son, Tim, were roommates at Eastern Michigan University and played ball together. My uncle gave us the cards in 1989 before Smoltz really took off. I was an instant fan and have been ever since.
    2) A collection of autographed photos from the bands Sevendust and Egypt Central. Not the biggest bands in the world, but I had a chance to photograph the bands, and then later on, brought the prints from the previous show to a second show and showed them and had them personally sign them for me. Kind of full-circle moments for me, which makes the pictures carry much more meaning to me.

  7. Michael says:

    Kirby Puckett autographed game used bat. and a Ted williams Minneapolis Millers 16×20 autographed photo.

  8. darkship17 says:

    I have a bat signed by the Iowa Cubs from last year including Sam Fuld, Micah Hoffpauir and Ryne Sandberg. see here: http://midwestcardboard.blogspot.com/2010/08/brand-new-wood.html

    I also have balls signed by Alex Gordon and Luke Hochevar who I got to meet during a Royals Caravan stop here in town.

  9. I don’t have much but:

    Jon Lester 8×10 autographed photo from his no-hitter is my favorite and best

    Don’t sleep on Lowrie yet, he’s been tearing it up this season.

Leave a Reply

