I read about this the other day from the CNN website:

LAGUNA NIGUEL, Calif. (AP) — The Great One is still setting records.

Wayne Gretzky’s NHL rookie card earned $94,163 at an online sports memorabilia auction Sunday. SCP Auctions says that’s the highest price ever paid for a hockey card.

While a Gretzky rookie card is easy enough to find on eBay, it is rare to find one free of small flaws or imperfections. The card sold Sunday was graded 10, or mint condition, by Professional Sports Authenticator.

SCP calls it “arguably the most valuable modern trading card in existence.”

OK look I understand the idea behind grading of cards, first off is the card a real one or a reproduction? Second what’s the real condition.  What I don’t get and I guess I’m in the minority, is why pay thousands times it’s “book value”.  I have one that is beat up like none other.  I paid ten bucks for that mess of a card, but I can say I own the card.  I know it’s a population 1 card and that it’s in near perfect condition, but come on how is this the new Honus Wagner or Mickey Mantle, I just don’t get it.

What do you think?

wayne gretzky card

4 responses »

  1. Mike D says:

    I read this off a Yahoo! sports link yesterday, and the blurb looked like it was written by a staffer who was given the news because he was “sports” and it was “Wayne Gretzky” so he had to write something up in a hurry to meet corporate deadlines. I work in the industry, I understand how that goes and the writing matched it.
    At any rate…I think the same type of rub was used in some form to last summer with Strasburg and how those sky-high prices were the new trend in collecting. And there were economists and business types writing stories about the rebounding of baseball cards and how Bowman/Topps was going to revitalize the market. And those stories went away shortly after Strasburg went on the DL and the Bowman base cards stopped selling for $75.
    I think this is a case where the heat of the moment surprised a few, given the life and times of our fabled economy, where someone would spend close to $100K for a HOCKEY card, and with a little digging found out the card is pretty rare given the number of 4’s, 5’s and under existing on the open market.
    A neat story, but nothing to get me chasing auction trails or anything.

  2. Dave says:

    I agree with you. I remember when grading came to the hobby many coin collectors said that it would cause the the hobby to go down. In hindsight they where correct.

  3. polishgooner says:

    If I was rich and had money to blow, I would rather buy cards from the 40’s, 30’s, 20’s etc. I don’t see this card going for that much ever again.

  4. Jeff says:

    What has been brought up on a number of card sites is that the Gretzky card is not a true mint. It has the typical rough edges of the OPC cards of the era. I don’t know if the grading company explained how the card was graded as a 10 if it was not truly perfect.

Leave a Reply

