A lot of you know that I live in North Carolina.  I am also an avid autograph collectors.  It is very rare when I get a chance to get some great autographs, but this weekend 5/26 – 5/30 the Team USA National Soccer team is coming to training in Cary, NC (about 30 minutes from my house).  I don’t have any soccer autographs and I figure that this would be a great time to go out and get some.

Here is the list of players who will be there training from ussoccer.com website:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Marcus Hahnemann (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (8): Carlos Bocanegra (Saint-Etienne), Jonathan Bornstein (UANL Tigres), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Eric Lichaj (Leeds), Oguchi Onyewu (FC Twente), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls), Jonathan Spector (West Ham United)
MIDFIELDERS (9): Freddy Adu (Rizespor), Michael Bradley (Aston Villa), Clint Dempsey (Fulham), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Benny Feilhaber (New England Revolution), Jermaine Jones (Blackburn Rovers), Sacha Kljestan (Anderlecht), Robbie Rogers (Columbus Crew)
FORWARDS (3): Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Jozy Altidore (Bursaspor), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

I know next to nothing about soccer, but I do know that Landon Donovan and Freddy Adu are both big name attractions.  I usually have a good track record of getting autographs at events, so I will do my best this weekend.  Either way, if I get autographs or fail miserably, I will have some pictures of the event to share.  If you live in the area it will probably be worth the drive.

5 responses »

  1. Mike D says:

    Exciting to know you will get to see the U.S. train near your home. I’m a huge supporter of U.S. soccer, and can add a couple names of guys you might want to watch/auto chase.
    Tim Howard – GK – He started for the US in South Africa and is a star in England playing in the EPL, which is one of the top leagues in the world.
    Donovan/Dempsey/Adu/Feilhaber in midfield – Donovan is the international poster child for US Soccer, and rightfully so. Dempsey is a world-renowned name and a very good midfielder. Adu and Feilhaber have had moments of brilliance.
    Agudelo/Altidore at forward – Agudelo is the next great hope in US Soccer, and the kid has some serious talent. He has the potential to lead the next US team to a World Cup appearance in Brasil. Altidore kind of parallels a guy like Amare Stoudamire – very, very talented player, but if you make him do it all by himself, he can be stopped when he tries to do too much.
    Oguchi – defense – as in most cases, coveting defense is like chasing offensive linemen in football. Oguchi is the biggest name draw there, but so is Steve Hutchinson or Orlando Pace in the right setting.
    If you were able to get anything cool over the weekend and willing to trade, you have an interested party in waiting!

  2. darkship17 says:

    Any chance you can get some 3×5 autoed for cut sigs? I would buy several! Really would go for Dempsey, Howard, Boca, Bradley and Agudelo! Good luck!

  3. Mike says:

    Hey, I’m planning on going to try and get autographs as well. Either friday afternoon or get their early saturday morning and wait all day if I have to. I was wondering if you had any further information such as specific training times? I’ve searched around but haven’t been able to find anything. Also, I read an article from one of the Raleigh papers about the training sessions but what worried me was that it said something along the lines of Railhawks season ticket owners or people involved in youth soccer may be able to attend. If I can’t get in there and watch or get autographs I’ll be upset 😦

    • chemgod says:

      I’m still going, but from what I have heard the practices are closed to the public. I don’t quite understand that since they are publicizing this like crazy on the sports channels out here. If I have to wait in the parking lot and try to get autographs that way, so be it. Of course I could be the ultimate stalker and head down to the hotel they are staying at.

  4. Mike says:

    Ha I actually was thinking about the hotel thing too but I don’t know if I could bring myself to do it, I feel like I’d get thrown out or something. If we can’t get in and actually watch I know someone on the bigsoccer forums said he waited in the parking lot when the players came out and they still stopped and did autographs so if the training session is closed not all hope is lost.

Leave a Reply

