I am trying to figure out if I like the idea of card companies making custom cards for people.  On one hand, it allows everyday folk to buy something that has a PSA or JSA stamp on it and create a card out of it for $39.99 + shipping.  Which really is a great thing.  On the other hand it’s taking work that I can do away from me.  Plus they are doing it cheaper than I can do it, which really pisses me off.

So much for my custom Slices of Greatness set I was working on:

Generally I don’t pay for JSA or PSA authentication mainly because I have seen them get hoodwinked a few times by autographs I know are not legit.    What really bugs me though is the fact that the market will soon be glutted with this crap and some of the autographs that are going into these aren’t even worth the $40.

I have done a bunch of custom cuts for people and never had a complaint, but most of my single cuts only run $20.  Of course I can’t slab them (wish I could) so maybe the extra money is going for the slabbing process.  By the way does anyone know where I can get blank card slabs?

So when do the booklets come into place?  You know it’s only a matter of time.  Maybe I’m just mad because this takes potential business away from me, but I just don’t see this going well for the industry.  I have to admit this really knocked the wind out of my sails.  It’s only a matter of time before the big boys come knocking on my door and tell me to cease and desist my custom card making.

So if you want to read more about this, you can do so here <link>.  What does everyone think of this move by Leaf?

5 responses »

  1. joe l says:

    always, alway, and I’ll repeat always, patent your ideas becuase card companies will steal your designs and ideas. For a mear 50.00 you can have them approach you for the design. But again, patent patent patent.

  2. Jimmy says:

    i just took a look at their site, and i dont know man, they dont offer much customization, it looks like a single design that your auto gets put onto. you will always have a market given that you can do a better job catering to your customer’s needs. keep in mind that many people prefer dealing directly as opposed to dealing with larger companies that dont think about the customer because their bottom line is all about $ profit.

  3. Joshua says:

    I think it was a smart move by Leaf. People always bought up pack-inserted cut cards, and there are always going to be “non-star” players / celebrities that aren’t popular enough for a pack-inserted card. This gives fans of those players / celebrities the chance to get a cut card. Or, if you have something you personally got signed, you could make a cut of that. Leaf actually “entered” the custom cut market a few months ago (Brian announced the program back in early Feb; the first finished cards hit eBay in early April), and so far they seem to be doing quite well. eBayers seem to be eating them up, too, with the first Ichiro selling for $665.

  4. matt says:

    Your advantage is that you’re willing to ignore copyright while they’re bound by it. So your stuff will always look better unless you reach a point where you need to deal with image rights etc.

  5. John says:

    I still think it is ridiculous to cut up an existing trading card for a “custom cut” ala the autos pictured above, especially the Erskine. Why destroy a perfectly good auto for a custom cut?

Leave a Reply

