Growing up I was always enamored with the 1919 Black Sox Scandal.  For those of you who don’t know or never saw the movie “Eight Men Out” in 1919 the White Sox were one of the best teams in Major League history, following the season and entering the World Series, they were big favorites to win.

The White Sox, who were poorly paid at the time and had an owner they loathed in Charlie Comiskey.  When the gamblers came calling,  Chick Gandil and the other White Sox players were listening.  They ended up losing the World Series against the Reds and two years later, they were kicked out of the game on the basis of the moral clause by Kennisaw Mountain Landis.

I was going to try and do all eight players, but really the booklets could only hold 6 so I am going to do a second booklet with Fred McMullins, Lefty Williams, Comisky, Landis, Abe Attell, and Arnold Rothstien (if I can find his autograph somewhere).  Here is how it came out:

5 responses »

  1. Corky says:

    Awsome card. I grew up totally engorssed in the scandal, I read everything I could find and was so excited when the movie came out. I still think Jackson and Weaver were railroaded.

    I know Upper Deck did a Comisky-Rothstein cut signature in the 2009 SP Legendary Cuts release but Rothstein’s signature does not look right, I found a sweet copy of Rothstein’s autograph from a 2001 auction at the Legendary Auction site. Nice size and clean, here is the link if you are interested.

    http://www.legendaryauctions.com/LotDetail.aspx?lotid=18924

  2. Michael says:

    I want it haha very cool

  3. I will buy this! Seriously. Please.

Leave a Reply

