I really don’t relish the fact that I am writing this post.  I truly wanted to see Tim Tebow be successful in the NFL.  But after hearing reports out of Broncos camp that he is considered the fourth best quarterback on the Broncos, I have to assume his career is definitely in question at this point.  Yet as of yesterday, his autographed cards are still selling in the $80 – $150 range.

Now it’s only his second season, and maybe I’m just overreacting to things, but if Denver brass thinks that you are fourth behind, Kyle Orton, Brady Quinn, and former University of Minnesota standout Adam Weber are all better than him.  Here is a quote yesterday from a “high ranking source” in the Broncos organization:

“If everything was totally equal, and this were a competition based only on performance at this camp, Tebow would probably be the fourth-string guy. Kyle [Orton] is far and away the best, and Tebow’s way behind [Brady] Quinn, too. And I’m telling you, Adam Weber is flat-out better right now.”

Let me tell you something, not only should the Broncos trade him while he still has some value, but if I was sitting on any Tebow card worth money (and most are), I would be dumping it on eBay ASAP!  No lie, last season the same cards selling for $100 were going for $300, and with this last announcement that he can’t even beat out rookie Adam Weber for the third string job has to have people concerned.

Does this mean his NFL career is over?  Not by a long shot.  There is always a place in the NFL for a popular player, even if he has horrendous accuracy issues.  Tebow puts butts in the seats and jerseys on the fans.  He needs a QB mentor, he needs to improve reading defenses, arm accuracy, and frankly he needs to learn how to be a pocket passer.  Unfortunately, that isn’t his game and he’s just not that kind of player.

So does he try and become a running back or wide receiver?  Not sure at this point.  He wants to be a QB.  To be completely honest, I just don’t see him remaining in Denver, and to be honest I’m not sure where he would fit in.  Maybe ship him off to Jacksonville and have him back up Gabbert.

As far as his card go, well, they are all completely overpriced.  I would be a buyer at the $20 mark, but only because of his college career.  The current levels are way too high, and by next month look for them to free fall, especially if he is third string or even worse, got traded.

Tim Tebow – Buying or Selling?  How much would you pay for his cards?

4 responses »

  1. Tyler C. says:

    It is too bad to see this happen to a great college player. I am just happy now that I will be able to complete my 2010 topps chrome auto set at a cheaper price now. I wish him the best.

  2. Michael says:

    He didn’t seem all that bad last year considering it was his rookie year. Most coaches and high management can’t properly evaluate talent anyway. I still think he could be a future starter with a couple more years on the bench learning. I don’t think anyone will give him that chance though. I’m waiting for his autos to drop, when they do, I’ll be sure to pick one up. regardless of what he does in the NFL, he was one of the greatest college players of all time.

  3. Corky says:

    I am surprised to hear this, not that I am a fan of his, but I thought just last week they were talking about how he was the #2 man behind Orton. Which lets be honest, Kyle Orton is going to get hurt…again… or he will blow a game or two…again… and the Broncos will suddenly play musical chairs with the QBs.

    On the positive side, if Matt Leinart can be the #2 guy in Houston (oh man my Seahawks dodged a bullet not working a deal for him last month) then Tebow definitly has a back up job somewhere. I agree with you that Denver needs to work a trade quickly while he has value. Trading a fourth-string QB does not get much back in the trade.

  4. The Broncos are still claiming that they intend to keep him on the roster as a project player, and potential future starter, which I wonder how much is truth, and how much is trying to save trade value. Looking across the league for a potential home is a hard one too. Jacksonville could have been the fit in the draft, but with Gabbert there, I don’t see the team trading any value for a second yong QB regardless of popularity.

    Miami, and Buffalo are both options, but I think at this point they’d consider starting one of us. Seattle might have interest, but I think the best fit would have to be the 49ers. I think working with Harbaugh could be monumental for a career that is very much approaching a crossroads. If I am San Fran, I’d offer Denver Alex Smith, my 2012 third, and sixth, and sell Smith as a player they can get off for an additional 2012 fourth, or fifth to a team looking for a back up. You don’t give up much for Tebow, so it’s not so much high risk as it is potential high reward. Although the Mays trade makes it look like the 49ers might be stockpiling for a rebuild this offseason, the risk of a 3rd, and 6th wouldn’t hurt their draft board too much. Especially depending on what pick they got from the Bengals for Mays, if it’s a 4, they might be able to package both 4;s with Smith.

Leave a Reply

