I was up in the Hampton Roads are yesterday and as always I make a pit stop into my favorite hobby shop, Jersey’s Cards.  I’m pretty sure I like it so much because it’s called Jersey’s and I am from New Jersey.  I originally wanted to get some magnetic cases, but the price went up and not I ended up bailing out on that, but he had a cheap ass card bin and I couldn’t help myself 4 game used cards for $15 and 4 autographed cards for $20.

Here is a view of the store, it’s in a strip mall off of Mercury Blvd. in Hampton, VA.  Here are the four jersey cards I got:

Clockwise:

2003 Topps Bazooka Baseball – BB-RH – Rickey Henderson (bat)

2003 Playoff Prestige – 2003 Player Collection – Jay Payton – (patch, 2 color, 254/325)

2003 Fleer Patchworks – SS1-PPF1 – Reggie Jackson, Barry Bonds, Sammy Sosa (Sosa 2 color patch 115/200)

2008 Donruss CenturCCM- Collection Materials – CCM-29 – Gaylord Perry (vintage jersey 44/100)

The Henderson was bought because I needed him for my set, the Payton because it was a neat patch.  Sosa has a nice big patch on it and it’s from a Cubby Uniform, and the Gaylord Perry because I am a sucker for vintage jersey patches.  The four autographs I got were:

From top left:

1999 Fleer Sports Illustrated – Autograph Collection – Bud Harrelson

2003 Fleer Avant – AAC-ML – Mike Lowell – 145/150

2002 Donruss Fan Club – 210 – Mark Prior (RC) – 320/1350

2004 Upper Deck USA Baseball – HAM – Jeffrey Hammonds – (63/90)

I got the Harrelson because the Fleer SI set has always been one of my favorites.  I had traded away a Mike Lowell Chirography card a year ago and have always regretted it, this gave me a chance to have another.  Mark Prior was a must have because even though his career ended before it even started, he was the best college pitcher I have ever seen (yes better than Strasburg).  The Hammonds card because I never owned a Jeff Hammonds card and I’ve been a fan since he was in high school (Scotch Plains, NJ) and followed his career in college (Stanford), probably one of the best amateur hitters I have personally ever seen.

Finally I bought a pack of 2001/2002 Upper Deck Vintage and here were the highlights:

It really is a nice set and the cards come 10 to a pack so a big chunk can be had with just one box.  All in all, I had a fun time there and I highly recommend if you are in the area to stop by and pick up some supplies or a card or two.

4 responses »

  1. dawgbones says:

    Should’ve said something, Jersey’s is 2 minutes from work (Executive Towers). I go there all the time, the guys that own/run the joint are top notch. I go by there all the time just to see what’s in that bin.

  2. Spankee says:

    Hey, I go theere all the time, too. I’ve been close to picking up that Gaylord. Great place!

  3. Spankee says:

    Yea man, definitely. Just drop me an email.

Leave a Reply

