Contest Winner

I got so slammed at work yesterday and never got a chance to pick a winner so here is the winner of the last contest:

Nico ED | September 11, 2011 at 5:13 pm |

Send me an email and let me know where to send your prize.  I will make sure to do more of these contests this weekend.

Recent eBay Win

As my attention span become smaller and smaller I find myself being into certain types of cards on a week to week basis.  However for the past couple of weeks, I have been trying to win some cut autographs on eBay.  My latest pick up was the Lew Fonseca card above.

A lot of people (I would even go as far as to say 99%) who read this blog have no idea who Lew was.  He played 12 seasons between 1921-1933 for the Indians, Reds and White Sox.  He had a solid career but he will be most remembered for his 1929 batting title.  He beat out the likes of Ruth, Gehrig, Foxx, Al Simmons, and Tony Lazzeri.  What really drew me to the card was the fact he was a player from the 20s, you just don’t get a chance to own many autographs from players of that era.

I bought the card for $31 including shipping.  I have seen his cut autographs go from anywhere between $10 and $50.  Most of the better signatures though run in the over $25 range.  I considered making a card  of him through a signed index card but thought better of it.  I like the frankencard and I think it’s a cool addition to the collection. I am still on the lookout for signatures from the early days of baseball.  Not the stars, but the everyday guys.

What do you think of the Fonseca card?  Be honest you won’t hurt my feelings.

4 responses »

  1. Nico ED says:

    What´s your email so that I can email you my address.
    And thanks so much for the contest.

  2. DanMan says:

    Nice pick up. I think it actually looks better than most cut cards. Can’t go wrong with a guy like that.

  3. James says:

    Very nice pick-up. Great card and price.

  4. Michael says:

    Nice card, and a pretty good deal too. I’ve been saving up the last 2 years for a Maris cut. A few have come in reach, but the cuts looked like crap, so I passed. My day will come.

Leave a Reply

