Sometimes it’s tough to figure out what to write about, so today I’m going to write about the fact that today is my birthday and Mrs. Chemgod certainly took care of me.  Like most card collectors when it comes to birthday presents we want cards and some good ones.  My wife is a saint, she puts up with my ADD collecting style of what am I collecting today?  She knows that recently I have been into really old time autographs, not exactly stars, just autographs of players from the teens, 20s and 30s.

So what did she do for me?  She told me here is $125, go wild on eBay.  To many that would sound like a cop out.  The truth is I am a pain in the ass to shop for and upon hearing my wife toss me a C-note and a quarter to go wild with on the bay of E, well I went wind and tried to find some really oscure, but fun autographs.  Here is a look at what I picked up:

Autographed Index Cards:

(3) Riggs Stephenson Signed Index cards “Old Hoss” played from 1921-1934

Paddy Livingston Autographed index card played from 1901 – 1917Babe Herman Signed Index Card played from 1926 – 1945Willie Kamm signed index card played from 1923 – 1935

Johnny Cooney signed index card played from 1921-1944

Frenchy Bordagaray signed index card played from 1934 – 1945

Elmer Smith 2011 Legendary Cuts Signed index card played from 1914 – 1925I got this one for the Charles White, Charlie Sanders, and Billy Shaw . . . The Aaron Brooks will be post fodder later this week.

Ernie Banks Cut Autograph Card

Harmon Killebrew Cut Autograph Card

Frank Robinson Cut Autograph

Fergie Jenkins Obak Cut autoOverall a nice haul for my birthday.  I plan on turning all the signed index cards into cut autograph cards and as I put them together I will do a post on them where I can explain their bios a bit more. Have a great weekend everone and wish me a happy birthday because my ego needs it every once in a while.

9 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday! Nice pickups!

  2. Dennis says:

    Happy Birthday!
    And congrats on the nice Birthday gifts!

  3. baseball dad says:

    Happy birthday ! There I said it ! Very nice cards and autos. My wife needs to read this. I don’t even get cards at Christmas !

  4. AJ says:

    Nice cards! Happy Birthday!

  5. jeff says:

    Happy birthday chemgod

  6. Brian B says:

    Happy Birthday, to the best blogger out their, ok I admit, you are the only blog I read, now thats really gotta stroke ur ego!!!! Have a great day. Good job to the wifey, Mine knows, local store, something new, and she will go to about $125-150 a box if they talk it up real good on auto inserts!!! LOL

  7. Andy says:

    Happy Birthday, and congrats on the awesome pick-ups! We share a birthday…

  8. Anthony says:

    Happy bday my man! wish the wife gives me some spending money!

  9. Dawgbones says:

    Happy Berfday to you,
    Happy Berfday to you,
    Happy Berfday Ole Chemgod!!!,
    Happy Beeerrrrfdaaaayyyyy to yooooouuuuu!

    Hope you had a GReat day!
    ~D

Leave a Reply

