I took an extended weekend off from blogging as I needed a rest.  Hope you guys understand that on a day to day basis, it’s tough to come up with a post which is entertaining to read.  There were lots of things going on this weekend, but the little engine that could, St. Louis Cardinals were, what I think, the biggest surprise of the weekend (besides the Dan Wheldon story).  The biggest story of the post season has to be David Freese.

The David Freese story is a fantastic one.  Here is a guy that can actually hit but for the most part was an every other day player.  His play during the playoffs shouldn’t be surprising as he is a career 0.298 hitter who has a little pop.  He has been showing it off more and more over the past few seasons.  He took over third base this year and the Cardinals couldn’t be happier.  His offense sparked the team not only during the Brewers match up, but he also played well against the Phillies.

He batted 0.545 with 3 homers and 9 RBIs for the series.  However that doesn’t even tell the whole story, two of those home runs sealed victories for the Cards.  One was a game ending home run and the other was a first inning home run.  Both were pivotal in winning the series.  Entering the playoffs, my gut told me it would be the Yankees and the Phillies.  Boy was I wrong.  The Cardinals are in it to win it and it’s thanks to guys like Chris Carpenter, Lance Berkman and David Freese.

I’m not saying that Freese is going to be the next big thing in baseball, all I’m saying is that he is a solid contributor.  That being said, I don’t know if he will become the 0.300/20/85 guy I think he can become given enough at bats at third.  However given the fact that he has a TON of protection in that lineup, thanks to guys like Pujols and Holliday, there is no reason why you shouldn’t expect him to see a lot of strikes to tee off on.  I think as long as he is protected in that lineup and is given a chance to play everyday, he could become a very offensively good third baseman.

As of the beginning of October, you could have had the card pictured below for about $5-$10, but ever since his play this post season, his cards have spiraled out of control. While I think his autograph is fine in the $5-$10 region (shipped), I have a problem with his cards sitting at $30 because of an awesome month of baseball.  Clearly he is a sell right now and when he gets back down to more reasonable levels I would definitely buy.  It’s just a matter of getting the costs under control.

What is your buy or sell price with David Freese?  Is he a must have card?

One response »

  1. Offy says:

    He’s definitely a sell and I jumped right on the bandwagon. I had a refractor and sold it for a nice price.

Leave a Reply

