Player: Darrly Strawberry

Company / Set: 2005 Topps Gallery

Serial Number: N/A

Card Number: GHR-DS

Why is it in my personal collection?: This one is easy, I love the design.  It’s so simple and yet so fantastic.  Topps really hit a home run with their Gallery sets, it was always one of my favorites.  I’m not a huge Met’s fan, but I love that 1984 Topps card featured as his rookie card. Something about the powder blue Mets running down the side.  Also I always loved the back of that card, the picture below shows the back of this card and how it mimics the back of the original Topps cards.

Say what you want about Strawberry and his wasted potential, back in the mid-80s was there another player who was as fun to watch in person?  It was like every time this guy stepped up to the plate something big was going to happen.  Looking at the stats on the back, that 1982 season really stood out.  It was why he only spent a half a month with the Tides.  He went on to have a great year with the Mets in 1983, I always felt if there was someone who could break the 40-40 barrier it would be him, that is until Jose Canseco came around.

Would I buy other cards in this set?: Absolutely!

Card Rating from 1-100: 78

What do you think of this card / subset?

3 responses »

  1. Bill says:

    As we used to say at Shea back in the day… “DAAAAAARRYYYYYL, DAAAAAARRYYYYYL,…”

  2. I haven’t seen this set. I think it looks awesome!

  3. Mike W says:

    Forget the bat, I want an authentic post-game crack pipe piece of his

Leave a Reply

