Player: Magglio Ordonez

Company / Set: 200 Upper Deck SPx Baseball

Serial Number: N/A

Card Number: FF-MG

Why is it in my personal collection?: I only like jersey cards with pinstripes or patches.  This one is rather plain, but it has two pieces and one is a pinstripe.  I also bought this because I’m an Ordonez fan. He’s been counted out so many times in his career, but in the end he’s usually a 0.300 / 25 / 100 guy.  He’s not a Hall of Famer by any stretch of the imagination, but over the course of 15 years he has carved out a great career and is one of the few players that can say that he played great for two teams.

Where did I get this card?:  From a local card shop in Hampton, VA

Price: $3

Would I buy other cards in this set?: I’m on the fence about it.  I am really not a fan of the set itself, so it would have to be player specific.

Card Rating from 1-100: 43

What is your take on Ordonez and the card itself?

3 responses »

  1. Kevin says:

    I lost complete respect for him when he wouldn’t take a deferred payment salary structure to stay with the Sox. As he put it, “If I’m playing now, I’m going to be payed now.” Hated him ever since…

  2. spankee says:

    Nice card! I’m pretty sure I saw it a couple of times at the same shop!

  3. Bill says:

    I feel like the jerseys on this card should be reversed. Have the Tigers ever worn a pinstripe? I know they have the piping but that’s a pinstripe on the card. I think the Sox have worn them but I’m not sure if that was when he was there.

Leave a Reply

