I’m not going into a long spiel about why I haven’t posted, but here is it in a nutshell . . . burnout . . . Now that I’ve had about a month of relaxation and not worrying about tomorrow’s post.  I can focus on what I love about cards.  Whether it is hockey, basketball, football or baseball.  The cards that always grabbed me was the rookie card.  Not the super low print autographed game used refractor card.  Just the good old, cardboard rookie card.

Some people think that the idea of a rookie card is dead.  That they aren’t worth the price of the cardboard itself.  However, there are quite a few rookie cards out there that are worth the price.  Sure some of them cost an arm and a leg and aren’t worth the asking price, but for the most part, these are the cards that you can usually make the biggest profit on if purchased at the right time.

The first card I want to talk about is Steve Stamkos 2008-09 Upper Deck Young Guns RC #245. I don’t often give credit to UD for many reasons.  However their Young Guns cards have always been one of my favorites (also OPC Marquee Rookies).  They are short printed, so right away the card becomes more valuable, but for hockey card fans, the Young Gun series is THE ROOKIE CARD.  Stamkos has developed into a better player than even the Lightening could have predicted.  He has become (in just four seasons), one of the top five scorers in hockey.  At just 22 years old, he already has 179 goals and 329 points.

There are not many players in the history of hockey that can claim those kinds of numbers at the age of 22.  And just think, he hasn’t even hit his physical peak yet!  It’s a shame that this season might be a washout because  could have been talking about a 100 point season.  Barring any major issue, I would find it hard to imagine that he won’t one day be in the Hall of Fame. Which is why his Young Guns cards draw so many bids on eBay.  Just enter this search <eBay sold link> and take a look at all the bids that have been placed on these cards. Most are around the 15-20 bid mark.

The card commonly sells for between $45 to $60 and that’s ungraded.  Graded cards are fetching from $60 – $100.  That’s for a non-autographed, non-game used, non-refractor, non-serial numbered card.  Given the prices realized, I think it’s still LOW.  Give Steven another four seasons of similar play and I can see this card doubling in value.  Toss in the fact of the lockout situation and I can even see it decreasing in value a little more before it turns and start increasing.

It really is a nicely designed card, and with the state of hockey, his age, and his potential, you can see why I rate this card as a buy.  Overall, there are a few more Young Guns cards I would love to have in my personal collection (which I will write about later), but for now I would really love to own this card.

What do you this of this card (and or) the Young Gun series?

3 responses »

  1. Scott says:

    Good to have you back.

  2. dave h says:

    I was really luck to pull this card from my only box of 08-09 UD Series 1. I used to buy a box of each a year, but since 2010 I have been expanding my purchase areas and not giving much time to the flagship UD stuff.

    With that being said, I still try and track down rookies of players I like on the secondary market or occasionally trade for ones I like.

  3. Young Guns are by far and away the cornerstone of the hockey collecting universe. They have the best crop of rookies represented each year in their release, they usually always maintain their value on the secondary market, and the fact that they are mostly short printed makes them all the more collectible.

Leave a Reply

