When I was in my teens, I used to go to the local flea market, Collingswood Auction.  My parents used to take my siblings and I there each and every weekend.  I would take my allowance and drag my dad to Larry the card guy.  I’m sure if there are any 40ish year olds out there from the shore in NJ and you were in any way into cards you knew Larry.  Anyhow we were there one weekend and Larry broke out this card:

Amazingly, even without a MLB license this looks pretty good.

It was a credit card that was actually a baseball card.  To a pre-teen, this was AWESOME!  My dad must have thought I was on dope or something, because he didn’t even give them a second look.  They were just so different from every other card I saw that I just loved it.  I had no idea who made the card, but man I needed to have it.  It wasn’t until years later that I actually found out that it was made by a company called Perma-Print.

The back of the card was even cooler, just because it had a spot for the player’s autograph:

So after a lot of whining ( I was 12 to 13 after all), my dad finally bought me a set.  I have no idea what it cost and when I asked my dad he had no idea either. I did however find a flyer for it (thanks to 4192.com for the image).

Click on picture to see a blow up.

$40 for the set is the equivalent to about $85 in today’s value.  My guess is that the price was pretty close to $40 at the time.  Now of course they aren’t worth what people were lead on to believe that they were going to be worth.  After a review on eBay, it basically worth about $50 for the set.  But the oddball value of the set is priceless.

Did you have a set or any cards like this? Or was I the only one?

4 responses »

  1. Ryan G says:

    I’m not old enough to remember these, but I picked up a good bit of oddballs when I was younger. Really, anything with baseball on it was worth keeping in my mind. I have a couple of these credit card cards now in my collection. There’s not much to the design in this one, but some PermaGraphic sets are moderately attractive. I wonder if anyone has attempted to complete a signed set of these.

  2. Adam says:

    I didn’t have a set but did pick up some singles for my player collections. I think they producedmthese for 3 years and a couple of the years have gold parallels.

  3. nighttimeowl says:

    I totally remember that Garvey card, and I had a fascination with Perma-Print cards back when I was a kid, too. Probably because they were advertised in every baseball periodical that I read. I didn’t pick one up until just a couple of months ago. But I plan to add more, including that Garvey.

    Great memories!

  4. Paulie3jobs says:

    I’ve got these as well. There was so little to collect back in the day that I bought just about anything I could get my hands on.

Leave a Reply

