I’ve been seeing a lot of odd-ball stuff showing up on eBay lately.  One of the cards from 1988 that I had never seen was the 1988 Topps UK Minis.  Today though while looking for some bad wax lots on eBay I came across this box o’ cards:

 

Now I knew that baseball cards were sold all over the world, what I didn’t know was that there were whole releases such as the one above.  It was an 88 card set of all the stars at the time.  They had a glossy front to them and a colored back.  Essentially a Topps Tiffany front with a Topps Bazooka style back, all printed at Topp’s Ireland plant.  Below is a picture of the front and back of Jose Canseco’s card (thanks to Capewood’s Collections):

 

Their size as you can see was of the mini stature that Topps loves to put out. Measuring just 2 1/8 x 3 inches.  The front of the card was nothing to really write home about.  It was actually kind of boring, but the back had some flash, ordinarily not associated with Topps products at the time.

The sets are not very expensive and singles from the set for the most part are part of the dollar bin.  I have seen sets go for around $10, The Puckett, Ryan and Mattingly cards seem to sell the best out of the set.  For some unknown reason, I’ve seen quite a few of these graded which seems crazy to me.  Anyhow, if you are looking for some oddball stuff to pick up from the junk wax era, you can’t go wrong with this set.  It just seems to scream fun.

3 responses »

  1. These cards had also been sold as a boxed set in the U.S.. I’d bought it at the time, because in 1988 I was still trying to buy everything that came out. It’s nothing special, but it’s a nice enough set. Good stuff for oddball collectors and player collectors.

    I think these must’ve come out in “regular” and “Tiffany” versions, because I’m pretty sure mine aren’t Tiffany.

    I always wondered about the wisdom of this set; wouldn’t selling baseball cards in the UK be something like selling Cricket cards here?

    • chemgod says:

      I think it was one of those “we have a printing plant in Ireland, let’s market to the UK and see what happens” moments. There is also a 1987 Topps football release too which I will discuss another day.

  2. Mike D. says:

    I have the 1987 Topps UK Walter Payton card, and its fashioned from the original American set, but they use these logos that are close to the team logos, but not quite…the picture of the Payton comes from another card issued in America, the 1,000 Yard Club that was distributed in rack packs. I thought about this card while reading your baseball entry. The baseball versions look like the Bazooka cards that came out at the time, or a variant of those Topps Big cards that were sold in the drug stores of that time.

Leave a Reply

