As many of you know I am a chemist when I’m not ripping open junk packs of wax.  About two weeks ago I took a trip to Chicago for a conference which I do some marketing at.  As I was walking around the floor I stopped by the US Pharmacopia booth because I thought I recognized someone.  It wasn’t someone from the industry, it was a baseball player.

I took his business card and read the name Kevin Correa and I saw the big championship ring on his finger and realized that he had played college baseball when I was in College.  So we got to talking when he mentioned his nephew Carlos Correa.  Then I put everything together, you see Carlos Correa was the first overall pick in the 2012 MLB Draft.

To make a long story short, I got Kevin’s autograph, even though the highest level of play he reached was the Mexican Leagues and was promised if I send him a card he would get Carlos to sign it for me.  I’ve met a lot of players and even some on trips I go on. I never thought I would make a baseball card contact at a chemistry convention. Go figure.

Courtesy of Baseballinstinct.com

3 responses »

  1. Mike D says:

    Funny how that works out sometimes. I was at O’Hare in Chicago last October with my wife headed to Maui on our honeymoon. In my bag was a book I was going to read on the plane written in part by Dan McNeil, who is a radio personality in Chicago. While we were waiting at the terminal, I looked up and recognized the guy sitting across from me, which was his afternoon radio show partner, Matt Speigel. I didn’t want to be that guy to bother him, but told my wife about the two degrees connection. It turns out he was on the same flight going to San Francisco to join his wife on a honeymoon.

  2. baseball dad says:

    Yeah, that’s pretty wild !

  3. carlsonjok says:

    I am a purchasing manager in the Oil and Gas industry and had a account executive from a manufacturing company pay a sales call on me. Turns out he played professional baseball. Made it as far as AA when he blew his shoulder out.

Leave a Reply

