We had a busy weekend and today is the first chance I had to pick a winner at random. It’s irondequoit36 of the blog Old Foul Cardboard.  So if he can email me back I’ll get one of the hits on out to him.

I don’t know about eveyone else, but I was just not thrilled with this Super Bowl.  It featured two teams that I really don’t like, two coaches I think are arrogant @sses, and in the middle of it one of the most boring (and politically incorrect) QBs in Joe Flacco.  Toss in the Ray Lewis crap and you can understand why I couldn’t wait for this game to end.

With this win Flacco becomes as collectible as the Mannings / Bady / Rodgers of the world and that is just sad.  I still can’t bring myself to put him in that class.  To me he is still third fiddle on that team behind Rice and the entire defense.  I am sure to get hate mail but really can you honestly tell me he is worth Manning or Brady money?  Maybe it’s just that he’s not exciting to watch or that he gives an awful interview, but if I were a Falcons fan and he’s going to eat up 15% of the team payroll, I’d have a problem with that.

Next up Ray Lewis. Thank god his career is over, I don’t think I can stand to listen to one more he murdered people story.  It was over 10 years ago, he went through a trial, it’s over.   I’m more intrigued by the HGH story that is gaining steam.  It’s my opinion that if a report comes out from Yahoo sports, Deadspin or SI and your name is associated with it, you did it. I have no problem believing the Lewis used deer antler velvet spray or holographic stickers. What did he care, this was his last season, the NFL doesn’t test for that specific HGH so do it, get back on the field and retire.  I’m just curious how much this will tarnish his HOF bid.  Probably not one bit.

All in all it was an exciting Super Bowl even if I was bored by the matchup but I’m really glad it’s put into the rear view mirror at this point!  Now we can focus on what really matters, baseball and NFL combine.

Ray-Lewis-Autographed-Card-

2 responses »

  1. Dave H says:

    Don’t forget hockey 🙂

  2. spankee says:

    Flacco isn’t worth Peyton money, but he is easily worth Eli money and then some.

Leave a Reply

